November 21, 2020. The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC), in partnership with the Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT), has announced the winners of the 2020 Tennessee Sustainable Transportation Awards.

“We congratulate these winners who are on the cutting edge of possibilities in sustainability in transportation,” TDEC Commissioner David Salyers said. “Their innovation and achievements come in many forms, but all share the goal of a better environment, and our state benefits from their example.”

“This year’s winners represent a broad range of projects designed to enhance transit services while also raising the bar for environmental stewardship,” TDOT Commissioner Clay Bright said. “We are so pleased to encourage and support initiatives that provide benefits to citizens and communities.”

The Tennessee Sustainable Transportation Awards recognize outstanding initiatives to improve the efficiency, accessibility, affordability, and sustainability of transportation systems in the state. A panel of judges selected the following 2020 winners:

  • Southwest TN Development District
  • Chattanooga Area Regional Transportation Authority
  • Knoxville Utilities Board
  • American Natural Gas / Frito-Lay Fayetteville
  • Town of Chapel Hill
  • Transit Alliance of Middle Tennessee
  • Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County departments of Planning and Public Works / KCI Technologies, Inc.
  • NET Trans / Alliance AutoGas

The recipients were recognized by the TDEC and TDOT commissioners via webinar in conclusion to the 2020 Tennessee Sustainable Transportation Forum and Expo. TDEC, TDOT, and Tennessee Clean Fuels host the annual forum, where participants share and discover projects that can reshape what is possible in transportation and mobility. In 2020, the event has been held as a free, online webinar series that promotes research, technology, planning, and policy developments that improve transportation efficiency, reduce vehicle emissions, and address mobility needs.